MTHA Election Results Are In

Wednesday, January 3, 2024

The Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association has announced the results of the 2023 election for its 15-member Board of Directors. Elected were seven owner representatives, seven trainer representatives and one member who received the next highest number of votes regardless of category.

The election, conducted by Intelliscan Inc., was held from Dec. 1-31 using paper and online ballots. The certified results were delivered to the MTHA Jan. 3.

The results are as follows:

Owners: Joseph P. “Josh” Pons, Linda S. Gaudet, Charles J. “Chip” Reed, JoAnn Hayden, David H. Wade, Michael F. Horning and R. Thomas Bowman, Jr.

Trainers: H. Graham Motion, Michael J. Trombetta, Katharine M. Voss, Timothy L. Keefe, Lacey A. Gaudet, Brittany T. Russell and A. Ferris Allen III.

David Hayden, who ran in the owner category, picked up the 15th spot on the board.

Intelliscan reported that 407 valid ballots were counted, 279 paper and 128 online. The 2023 return rate was 15.66% which was slightly higher than the 15.23% return rate experienced in the 2020 MTHA election.

Officers, including President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary will be selected by the MTHA Board of Directors. The new board will do so at an organizational meeting that will be scheduled soon.