About MTHA

The Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association is the officially authorized organization that represents, assists and promotes the interests of Maryland's Thoroughbred owners and trainers.

Membership in the MTHA is automatically extended to everyone licensed to own and/or train Thoroughbred race horses in this state.

There is no membership fee to become a member of the association. The MTHA's many activities and services are supported by a nominal deduction of 2 percent off the top of purse monies at Maryland's three Thoroughbred race tracks.

Guiding the MTHA is a 15-member Board of Directors, comprised of seven owners, seven trainers and one at-large member (either an owner or trainer). Further leadership is provided by a President and two Vice-Presidents.

Day-to-day administration is lead by an Executive Director who is employed by the Board of Directors and a small but experienced staff that reports directly to the Executive Director.

Elections for MTHA Directors and Officers are held at three-year intervals, with each term of service lasting three years.

Members are encouraged to attend periodical open Board of Directors meetings, as well as the annual general membership meeting in June of each year. Notices of these meetings appear in the news section of this website.

Seven standing committees carry out the MTHA's main functions: Aftercare, Backstretch and Safety, Finance, Health and Welfare, Legislative, Racing and Executive. Additional special committees are formed when a need arises.

The MTHA publishes a monthly newsletter that is mailed, free of charge, to all members and emailed to those members who have provided their email address.

The MTHA maintains a central business office at: 500 Redland Court, Suite 105, Owings Mills, MD 21117

MTHA maintains satellite offices during live race meetings and at regular intervals at Laurel Park, Pimlico Race Course and Timonium Race Course.

For information, please call us at 410-902-6842 or email info@mdhorsemen.com.

Board of Directors

This Board of Directors of the Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association is comprised of a panel of seven owners, seven trainers and one at-large member (either an owner or a trainer) elected to three year terms in open elections voted on by the full membership of the association. Officers of the association are elected by the Board of Directors and serve at the pleasure of the Board of Directors.


The Board of Directors of the Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association appoints the following committees that serve at the pleasure of the full Board. The President serves an an ex-officio member of each committee.

* Non Board Member
Executive Committee

Katy Voss, President

Linda Gaudet, Vice President

Tim Keefe, Vice President

Michael Horning, Treasurer

A. Ferris Allen, Secretary


Lacey Gaudet - Laurel

Jonathan Maldonado * - Laurel

Lori Testerman * - Pimlico

H. Graham Motion - Fair Hill

Phil Schoenthal * - Fair Hill


A. Ferris Allen

Linda Gaudet

Joann Hayden

Tim Keefe

Beyond The Wire

Ellen Charles *

Joann Hayden

Linda Gaudet

Tim Keefe


David Hayden

Josh Pons


Michael Horning, Treasurer

David Hayden

David Wade

Paul L. Fowler *


R. Thomas Bowman

Linda Gaudet

David Hayden

Tim Keefe

H. Graham Motion


A. Ferris Allen

Lacy Gaudet

Linda Gaudet

David Hayden

Michael Horning

Chip Reed

Michael Trombetta

Phil Schoenthal *

John J. Robb *


A. Ferris Allen

Nick Dilodovicco *

TJ Aguirre *

Track Surface

Lacey Gaudet

Tim Keefe

Brittany Russell