Friday, December 1, 2023

Ballots are now in the mail for the Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association election for its Board of Directors, held every three years. All 15 board seats are up for election.

Directors are elected to three-year terms. The MTHA Board consists of seven trainers, seven owners and one at-large director. The at-large seat is determined by the highest vote-getter of the remaining candidates.

To review each candidate’s biography, please click this link online:

Ballots have been mailed to all eligible members of the association beginning Dec. 1. An eligible member is defined as an individual licensed by Maryland Racing Commission in 2023 as an owner, trainer or an owner/trainer on or before the date of record of the election which is November 1, 2023. You must vote for seven candidates in each category.

In addition, new for 2023, the MTHA will offer the ability to cast members’ ballots online. A unique link for each eligible voter is included in the ballot mailing. If you cast your ballot online, then your printed ballot will not be accepted.

Ballots are due to be received by mail (not postmarked) or submitted online by 11:59 PM ET on December 31, 2023, no exceptions. No ballots will be accepted by the MTHA Office or via email.

Election services are provided by Intelliscan, a third-party election services company based in Phoenixville, Pa., that specializes in non-profit elections.

If you have questions or issues or do not receive a printed ballot by December 15, 2023, please email