New Recognition Program For Grooms Begins

The MTHA Board of Directors at its January meeting approved a proposal to recognize grooms on race days at Laurel Park and Pimlico Race Course with the MTHA Best Turned Out Horse Award.

Maryland Jockey Club racing official Jason Egan will identify the best turned out horse in the paddock in two randomly selected races. The groom of the selected horse will receive a $50 Visa cash card; Egan will provide winners with a certificate that can be exchanged for the card in the MTHA grandstand office.

The winners will be identified by MJC track announcer Dave Rodman during the course of the racing day.

The program began on February 1 with winners Noe Estrada Rodriguez (Miguel Vera) and Luis Garcia (Anthony Farrior) and continued on February 2 with winners Victor Garcia (Gary Capuano) and Rafael Hernandez (Mary Eppler)

The program will be in place through 2020.

Purse Release